Diary
Latest
Older
Recommend
Disclaimer

Contact
E-Mail
Guestbook
Notes
AIM

Me
Profile
My best pic
Fun facts
Bio

People
Family & Friends
Matt's Quotes
Co-Worker Quotes
Quotes from others

Thank You
Fans
Diaryland
Warning: Long entry ahead. Proceed with caution!
12:18 a.m. - 2004-09-01

Tribe drop black eye on Bombers

Westbrook coasts to victory thanks to 22-run cushion

By Justice B. Hill / MLB.com

Travis Hafner's three-run triple in the first got the rout started early. (Bill Kostroun/AP)



NEW YORK -- The Indians' run production had been in hibernation for most of the past two weeks, but it woke from its slumber Tuesday night.

Displaying the kind of firepower that had punctuated their play all season, the Indians scored nine runs in the first three innings, and the Tribe used those early runs to fuel its 22-0 pounding of the Yankees in front of 51,777 at Yankee Stadium.

Three of those nine runs came in the first. The Indians pieced together that inning off right-hander Javier Vazquez, and their big blow was Travis Hafner's triple, which accounted for the three runs. But the Indians were hardly finished with Vazquez.

For in the second, they scored three more runs. Ronnie Belliard's double started Vazquez's troubles that inning, and his walk to Jody Gerut added to them. Coco Crisp's high flyball to center moved Belliard to third.

He scored on Omar Vizquel's single -- one of an American League record-tying six hits for Vizquel on the night. Gerut scored on Matt Lawton's single, knocking Vazquez (13-8, 4.62 ERA) out of the box; and Vizquel scored on Victor Martinez's sacrifice fly off right-hander Tanyon Sturtze for the inning's final run.

Sturtze, though, would have troubles of his own doing in the top of the third. Control -- or the lack of it -- proved his problem. He issued leadoff walks to Casey Blake and Ben Broussard. Two outs later, those walks turned into runs.

Crisp's single knocked in Blake, and Vizquel's double knocked in Broussard and Crisp, giving the Tribe a 9-0 lead.

From there, right-hander Jake Westbrook could almost coast to victory. He didn't allow a hit until Gary Sheffield looped a double just inside the left-field line with two outs in the fourth. But Westbrook fanned Alex Rodriguez swinging to keep the 9-0 lead intact.

The Yankees would soon dread that missed opportunity, for in the fifth, the Tribe continued to pour on the runs. Belliard's second double of the ballgame knocked in run No. 10, and Crisp followed with a two-run homer that gave Westbrook (12-6, 3.42 ERA) and the Tribe a 12-0 lead.

And even from there, the runs just kept on coming -- No. 13, No. 14 and No. 15 all came in the fifth.

The Tribe went on to hand the Yankees, who had beaten the Tribe eight straight at Yankee Stadium, their worst shutout loss in team history.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

HOLY FUCKING SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Matthew...congrats! :D I couldn't be happier lol!!!

Ok I was sitting at work today after I was done at 3 just munching on my hot wings and blue cheese(Hell yeah!!!) and my manager Ellen comes up to me, Emily, Chelsea, and asks if someone wouldnt mind working tonight. Me and my big mouth says sure. Cause I knew Matt and Essam would be in. Ok so I see Matt first. We find out were "Apple Buddies" cause we had tables near each other! Woot!(Oh no, I used Kaytee's word. Ack! LOL! Im so influenced! Shame on you girl!)

Ok Matt had a table going soon and so did I and my table was doing well, all happy with their nachos and strawberry daqruis(Mmmmmm, good stuff baby!), and I was walking around doing my "productive circles" and checking if anyone needed a table bused, or anything. It was 4PM and the dinner rush wasnt on yet, and it was still dead from the dribbles of the afternoon shift. And then I saw it. Matt. He managed to drop a plate of food for his table. A crispy orange chicken skillet. And it got all over the floor and worse, the skillet burned his arm a bit. He was in pain a good deal so I go over, and pick up the plate and skillet(This is what happens when you try carrying 4 plates, one being hotter than hell), and put it on another table(One of my empty ones, get a vaccuum, and I go get David(Another server who is really nice) and ask him to put in a priority slip for a new one for the guest. And I tell Matt I will clean up the mess, and I told him to go get some ice on his arm. Of course, he insisted on cleaning it up. So I take the vaccuum, take the towel I borrowed from Jess(A hostess) put them behind my back and demand he gets ice on it cause it was obvious he was hurting. He pats my back and says he owes me one. I was thinking... Yeah baby, you can owe me one anytime! Then the sections changed again cause 2 people never showed up. Lovely. Without even calling. Assholes. So my tables werent near him anymore. :(

So when I bump into him in the kitchen to run some food, I see him and I follow him with some food to the big table he is at. And I ask how his arm is doing, and he says it still stings. And he saw another orange chicken skillet in the kitchen but he winced and kept walking. I told him I have faith he will get over his orange chicken skillet-phobia. He laughed and said Im pretty awesome for helping him out tonight *dies*.

By the way. I dont like Rachael. She corrupted sweet Jenn!!! Damn her! Jenn used to have a mind of her own. Now she is a closer sometimes and Rach trained her into being a freaking Nazi!!! Insane! Jenn had the silverware count be 125!! I had to roll 125 fucking things of silverware, clean my tables(As always. This is something you always must do) and do my back of the house sidework, which tonight was the beverage area, and the aforementioned Rachael was the closer for that tonight. Shockingly, she wasnt a fucking bitch like she usually is. Essam also had the same sidework and I was asking him what he was doing after work and he said he didnt know yet. So I told him to get back to me. But when he was getting cashed out by Bruce(Another manager...the coolest manager we have by the way), I was like, fuck. He is just gonna go, and I just need to get Jenn to sign off my silverware and Im done. So I catch him as he is clocking out, and he said to meet him at his place when I was done and I asked if he was sure that was allright and he says yeah. And he gives me this huge hug and says that he'll see me soon. As he is hugging me, I see Matt walk past. Fuck! If Matt doesnt have a g/f and if I have a prayer with him, that might fuck that chance, lol. But man, if you were the one in Essam's room tonight half watching "Home alone", you wouldnt have cared either. Dont ask. He has the oddest movie selection. But in my own defense, I was actually watching the movie for about a half hour before I was like, ok look, this hot guy is laying next to me, he doesnt have his shirt on, he is fucking hot as hell, and for reasons unknown to mankind, he is actually interested in being around me, so knowing he is a totally sucker for a back massage, I start giving him one and "Home Alone", seemed a lot less appealing for about a half hour lol. Nothing REALLY happened. That's not sarcastic. Im serious here. He and I just kissed and cuddled around for a bit and got back to watching the movie. Whoa that man is fucking hot. Ive never seen someone look as fucking hot as he did tonight. After the movie, he had to go pick his brother up from work, and he just kept holding onto me as we tried to say goodbye. LOL! It was a nice goodnight kiss, and he said if I dont wind up having to work tomorrow, that I can give him a call.

Well, Im on call tomorrow for dayshift, and if Im not needed, Im gonna goto WalMart for putting in the prescription for my new glasses. I dont need a new prescription, just frames. Mine broke. I misplaced them, looked all over, and CRUNCH! Ooops. What a dork! If I dont wrok tomorrow, Im calling Essam and asking if he'd like to goto the bowling alley with me to see BJ. God knows that BJ has heard enough about him to write a book on him by now. Essam or not, Im going there cause I told BJ I would. He is my therapist. Its what I dont pay him for lol. And maybe I'll get myself a stuffed "Z" of my own. Maybe.

Ok this entry is far too long and I really need to get a move on and get something to drink. I am soooooo in a daze right now lol.

da2kokib/al19fl

julie

Previous �� Next