Diary
Latest
Older
Recommend
Disclaimer

Contact
E-Mail
Guestbook
Notes
AIM

Me
Profile
My best pic
Fun facts
Bio

People
Family & Friends
Matt's Quotes
Co-Worker Quotes
Quotes from others

Thank You
Fans
Diaryland
In Jimmie's defense...and hot guy Matt
8:49 a.m. - 2004-08-04

*gets worried about self* Ruh roh, I am actually in support of Jimmie here.

***********************

'Bottle Gate' continues: NASCAR is expected to levy a fine as early as Tuesday, upwards of $15,000 to Nextel Cup driver Jimmie Johnson for placing a sign atop his #48 Lowe's Chevrolet and obscuring the view of a sponsor's product during Sunday's Victory Lane ceremonies at Pocono Raceway, ThatsRacin.com has learned. Following his win in Sunday's Pennsylvania 500 in Long Pond, Pa., Johnson exited his car and placed a Lowe's sign - Lowe's is the primary sponsor of Johnson's team - atop his car and in front of a large blue Powerade bottle. Powerade is an official sponsor of NASCAR. During the course of Victory Lane ceremonies, the Lowe's sign actually fell off the car, but was inexplicably picked up and replaced in its original position obscuring the Powerade bottle by NASCAR official Dave Finley, witnesses said. Hendrick Motorsports officials were notified Monday of a likely fine, sources said. Officials with Hendrick and NASCAR were unavailable for comment late Monday.

Two weeks ago during a pre-race drivers meeting at New Hampshire, NASCAR president Mike Helton had told drivers "do not take it upon yourselves to remove products" placed on cars as they come in for victory celebrations. Johnson did not remove or move the Powerade bottle Sunday, witnesses said. Many of the recent issues have mostly been with a the large, blue Powerade bottle placed atop winning cars that some drivers have pushed or even knocked off their cars. The drivers who do so have affiliations with Gatorade or with Pepsi, which owns Gatorade. Powerade is a Coca-Cola product. "You can maneuver away from it or work around it," Helton said at New Hampshire. "If that doesn't begin happening again, we will be forced to deal with it."

The fine for Johnson, the series points leader, would be the first for such issues this season. Johnson was asked about the Victory Lane incident Sunday night during his post-race winner's interview. Asked if he was told to touch or not touch any bottles in Victory Lane, Johnson replied, "No, I wasn't. I was a little more aware of camera angles to try to honor my sponsors and take care of them. I even took the liberty of putting a sign up in front of brand 'X'. It's weird that the driver - in Victory Lane - has to worry about defending and honoring your sponsor because of relationships that exist outside of your control. I hope we get this rectified and when you pull into Gatorade Victory Lane you're drinking Gatorade and that's all there is to it."(ThatsRacin.com)(8-3-2004)

****************

Anyway, I worked a double yesterday and I was talking to hot guy Matt after I was done(aka the Josh Turner lookalike.He was working till midnight) and he was the silverware checker so when I was done I flagged him down and I asked if I could help him do anything when he was checking and he said "Naw, I'm allright".

So when we were talking afterwards, he asked me if I was mad cause he had to check the silverware cause everyone had to roll 75, and I said no, cause he didnt choose the amount. He said "Good, Id hate to have my Apple Buddy mad with me."(Apple Buddy=the person who's section is next to you that you help out if theyre swamped and vice versa) Then we walked to the POS station so I could clock out and he asked me my schedule. So Im like "I go in 930 tomorrow, and 930 Wednesday" and he interrupts me, laughing:"Tomorrow IS Wednesday." So I tell him the rest of my schedule. And we find out I work 9am on Friday and he comes in at 10(WOOHOO!) and then on Monday, we both work at 4(Someone offered to work my 9am shift for me that day...they needed to switch desperately) So maybe Friday I will see if he has a g/f and if he doesnt, I will see if he wants to do something after work. Cross your fingers I dont lose my nerve!

da2kokib/al19fl

*julie*

Previous �� Next