Diary
Latest
Older
Recommend
Disclaimer

Contact
E-Mail
Guestbook
Notes
AIM

Me
Profile
My best pic
Fun facts
Bio

People
Family & Friends
Matt's Quotes
Co-Worker Quotes
Quotes from others

Thank You
Fans
Diaryland
Nascar ramble
8:18 p.m. - 2004-07-25

If you like Kurt Busch, I have nothing against you. But asking me why I dont like him is like asking a Red Sox fan why they dont like the Yankees. Or asking an Avs fan why they dont like the Wings. Or an Eagles fan(like me) why they dont like the Cowboys. Its in the spirit of competition. What's the point of liking every single person out there the same? Yeah i have my slew of favorites that I root for week in and week out, but I dont sit here and say I dont care who wins cause I like everyone. I dont know if anyone who does that off hand except this lady I know named Patty. Notice not once did I say HATE! I said DONT LIKE! I dont HATE Kurt. I simply am in no way shape or form fond of him. I dont feel that I need to explain it. But oh well. Im happy for Kaytee cause she likes Kurt,and having a driver you like win is always good. But Im not a Kurt fan by any means. I really do not like Roush Racing except for Greg Biffle. But I was happy when Mark Martin, of Roush...won this year for the first time since 2002's Coke 600. Im a heart and soul Joe Gibbs racing girl. I like Sterling though as you know but I dont care for Chip Ganassi. I like Terry Labonte, but Im not huge on Hendrick. But Hendrick is kick ass...and RIP Papa Joe. I root for the driver. Not the team. Say for some God forsaken reason that Busch came to Team Gibbs. Would I root for him? Well, in all honesty I don't think I would cheer him on unless he was helping out Bobby or Tony. But I dont ever forsee that happening cause Kurt is the future of Roush and I dont think Jack the Hat will let him go. Odds are way against that. But Id respect any choice made by Mr. Gibbs. He has gone under a lot of criticism about Tony Stewart. And a lot of people thought with Joe returning to coach football that it would bring the downfall of Gibbs Racing. Nope. Those people who thought that were wrong.

To sum up what I am saying.... I dont hate any driver. There are drivers Id rather not see win because they might be up front when my drivers have a legit shot at winning. Im not a big "young guns" fan. Nothing wrong with being a fan of them. Nothing. There might be some people who began watching Nascar and boom, there were the youngens up there dominating, and winning. That's cool beans. But I was a Nascar fan since I was 8 years old. In other words, I have been a follower of Nascar for 12 years now. I grew up cheering on the old guys.

I remember Morgan Shepherd when he wasnt a "field filler". I remember when seeing the #3 on the track would bring evil to your eyes...never guessing that in 2001 we'd lose him. I remember the rise of the young gun craze when Jeff Gordon burst onto the scene. Harry Gant's farewell tour. I remember Hut Stricklin. I remember losing Davey Allison. I remember Ernie Irvan's near fatal practice wreck at Michigan when he was only given a 10% chance at even living his life. I remember Neil Bonnett coming out of retirement to race again. Then hearing he was killed in a practice for the Daytona 500. Jimmy Horton flipping over the Talledega wall. The first Brickyard 400. The family feud between Geoff and Brett Bodine in 94' which escalated during the aforementioned Brickyard 400 which Jeff Gordon won. I remember Dale Earnhardt win his final championship. I remember a race at Watkins Glen or Sonoma meant fearing Mark Martin's Valvoline sponsored Ford. I remember when Sterling Marlin won back to back Daytona 500's in 1994 and 1995-a feat that hasn't been accomplished since. I remember Darrell Waltrip retiring. I remember the Rusty Wallace and Dale Earnhardt rivalry. I remember so much.

Now, I know not everyone has been into Nascar that long. That's fine cause everyone picks it up at different times. But I'm just going down memory lane to show how I grew up with the old guns as some call them. My favorite of the young gun craze is Kasey Kahne cause he reminds me so much of Bill Elliott, that it is eerie. And I like Jamie McMurray and Casey Mears. Gotta love those K/Casey's...right Kaytee? :D

To put this entry in perspective...I grew up with a different type of Nascar than it is today and I am very partial to drivers who remind me of drivers that were in that era, or were actually part of that era. But drivers like Bobby, Sterling, Terry, Ricky, Mark and Rusty wont be around forever. But its drivers like them that gave Nascar such a solid background in the building of a positive future. So to all the young guns, I tip my hat to you all. But until my old guns are gone...my Nascar heart will always be leaning towards them.

da2kokib/al19fl

julie

The above entry are views solely of Julie. They are not meant to offend anyone. They were written to let others get an idea of where she is coming from in her Nascar views. All opinions are the feelings of Julie.

Previous �� Next