Diary
Latest
Older
Recommend
Disclaimer

Contact
E-Mail
Guestbook
Notes
AIM

Me
Profile
My best pic
Fun facts
Bio

People
Family & Friends
Matt's Quotes
Co-Worker Quotes
Quotes from others

Thank You
Fans
Diaryland
*smiles* Oh 2 for 5 aint bad!
5:33 p.m. - 2004-04-08

Yay! The first Adam LaRoche article on Atlantabraves.com

ATLANTA -- Although it's always seemed debatable whether or not Adam LaRoche could be affected by the world around him, it still seemed likely that the Braves' rookie first baseman would have been showing some sort of emotion as he prepared to make his first Major League appearance.

But just a few hours before starting at first base for the Braves in their game against the Mets on Wednesday night at Turner Field, LaRoche was displaying that same confident smile you often see from veterans like Chipper Jones or Andruw Jones.

"After watching that first game, I'm all right," LaRoche said. "As much as I don't like sitting on the bench, it wasn't that bad last night."

LaRoche certainly made the most of his Major League debut. Both of his first two hits came in the Braves' 11-run fourth inning and enabled them to claim an 18-10 win over the Mets.

His single through the right side of the infield against Mets starter Steve Trachsel gave him his first big-league hit and then later in the inning, he drilled a Grant Roberts delivery off the right-center field wall for a two-run double.

"He's a really nice first baseman and he has a really nice swing," Braves manager Bobby Cox said of LaRoche. "He's got a real smooth swing and just meets the ball."

LaRoche was held out of Tuesday's Opening Day lineup to allow the right-handed hitting Julio Franco the opportunity to attempt to better his impressive career numbers against southpaw Tom Glavine.

But Cox has indicated there won't be a straight platoon at situation at first base. The left-handed LaRoche should get his fair share of starts against southpaws.

When LaRoche took the field to begin Wednesday's game, he had approximately 16 family members and friends in the stands. Included in that group was his father, Dave, a long-time Major League pitcher and coach, and his younger brother Andy, who is playing for the Dodgers Class A affiliate in Columbus, Ga.

Although the eldest LaRoche, who currently is the pitching coach for the Royals Triple-A affiliate in Omaha, is proud of his son, he didn't exactly provide any type of emotional motivational speech before Adam headed to the park on Wednesday.

"He's like me," the Braves rookie first baseman said. "He doesn't get too excited too often."

While LaRoche may not be showing much emotion now, he has a feeling that if his toddler son ever gets the opportunity to become a third-generation big leaguer, it might be difficult to display his customary calm.

"I know if my son, Drake, makes it to the big leagues, I'll be bawling my eyes out with pride," LaRoche said.

Can we all say "AWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!"

Yeah. I know no one gives a shit about LaRoche.

Besides me. Im a LaRoche fan.

Probably his biggest fan. If anyone cares.

Yep. Thats right. No one does.

My Gagne jersey will be in the store to pick up tomorrow most likely.

Therefore, Im going there right after work.

I wont speed though. I might be tempted. I want the jersey.

NOW! Please go get it for me! :D

Flyers vs Deviled Eggs tonight. Deviled egg line? You think THATS cool? Well, WE have the LRH line!

LeClair. Recchi. Handzus.....LRH!

Ok, thats not creative. I admit it. La de da!

I love Kaytee's new layout. Kasey Kahne is so damn hot. Mmmm! LOL *smiles*

Braves won last night, thankyouverymuch! And if you care, LaRoche was 2 for 5 in his MLB debut.

And it wasnt televised. So I missed his debut. Boo freaking hoo :( I hope he starts tonight instead of Furcal, even though I dont mind Furcal.

My mom just called my cell. She is in the outlets in Delaware with her b/f today. She is in a Nascar outlet and was telling me what shirts they had, and that i can pick one out. They didnt have any Sterling ones. The bobby ones she described as ones i have. they didnt have a Biffle(aka Biffy) one, so she bought me the Jamie McMurray ROTY shirt!!!!!

Later!

DA2KOKIB and AL19FL!

Jules

Previous �� Next