Diary
Latest
Older
Recommend
Disclaimer

Contact
E-Mail
Guestbook
Notes
AIM

Me
Profile
My best pic
Fun facts
Bio

People
Family & Friends
Matt's Quotes
Co-Worker Quotes
Quotes from others

Thank You
Fans
Diaryland
Memorable Nascar moments!
8:46 p.m. - 2004-03-19

To pass time...and to pacify me that another Flyers player is down(Vladimir Malakhov...broken jaw), I will do something fun, an picture display of my 5 happiest moments as a Nascar fan! Let's count em' down five through one!

5.

Terry Labonte wins the 1996 Winston Cup Championship. He clinches in the final race of the season, and his brother Bobby wins the race, at Atlanta Motor Speedway, where Bobby is currently the winningest active driver, with 6 wins.

4.

Greg Biffle wins the 2003 Pepsi 400, outlasting the almighty restrictor plate track kings of DEI on fuel. Biffle earned his first career Cup win, and the respect of me. You rock, Biffy!

3.

Ernie Irvan wins the June 1996 race in Michigan Peedway, the track that nearly took his life in 1994 from a near fatal practice accident that left him with a one in ten chance of living. Ernie is a true inspiration, and his biography is a must read. This guy took the chances thrown at him and made a comeback. He is now retired, but this moment still gets me teared up, thinking about it.

2.

Jerry Nadeau wins his first Cup race in the season finale at Atlanta Motor Speedway in 2000. All season long, I told my mom and brother that Jerry would win this year. I was teased for that one pretty good. The last race bored my mom and brother, so they went to Kmart. When my mom pulled in the driveway, I could hardly stand it! So I ran outside, danced around and was yelling "GUESS WHO WON?" My mom guessed Earnhardt. My brother guessed Bobby Labonte. When I said Jerry Nadeau, their jaws dropped and I smiled. Jerry did it. I wont tell the saga of how I found out about his practice crash last year. Thats sad. This is a happy entry lol.

*****DRUMROLL PLEASE*****

And #1 is............

Bobby Labonte...2000 WC Champion! I began following Nascar(Cup and Busch) in 1992, and Bobby was my first ever fave in the Busch Series, and I followed him all the way to Cup. He is my favorite driver(tied for favorite is Sterling Marlin)

Go Bobby,you RULE!

Honorable Mention Moments:

~Daytona 500 (1998) Dale Earnhardt's 1st and only 500 win.

~Daytona 500 (1994) Sterling Marlin's first career win.

~Jimmy Horton flipping over the Talledega wall(1994 or 1995...one or the other, I think?) and survived without a scratch and the car was demolished.

~1995 Coca Cola 600...Bobby's 1st Cup win!

da2kokib,

Jules

Previous �� Next